Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

The Usual Suspects

Posted by tggokul on November 15, 2006

VoIP news (Is VoIP News part of Digium Marketing? Can anybody clarify that?)  released the list of the 50 most influential people in VoIP and there were no surprises. You can get the full list here.  Iotum got mentioned for the Management team and Saunders Log got a mention under VoIP bloggers. Jeff Pulver and Om Malik got their due as well.

I have never visited couple of blogs mentioned in this list and a new good blog always excites me. So I am hoping to get some new perspectives from them. Let’s see.

There were some Notable missing entries. Sonus Networks and Acme Packets (on which I talked about earlier in one of my blogs) were obvious chances. Can’t believe that they were not included. Sonus is as ‘Gorilla’ as it gets, come on.  Huawei ( whether their practices are ethically right or wrong is another subject) also has a huge VoIP deployment base and they should have been included as well. And what about ‘I am the founder of the internet’ Al Gore :). Without the internet, we would not have VoIP, would we?

Anyway I am never a big fan of the Top 10, Top 50 compilations. ( My Shrink says it is because I am never a part of that 🙂 and the treatment he suggested was that I compile the Top 10 list of people who never made it to any Top 10 list and put my name on top). This compilation was no exception. At the same time congrats to all who made it.

2 Responses to “The Usual Suspects”

  1. […] VoIP would have never been carrier-grade. This giant is seldom talked about and I had even posted about the exclusion of its name in VoIP News top 50 list. Give more credit to this Gorilla. 2) […]

  2. […] VoIP would have never been carrier-grade. This giant is seldom talked about and I had even posted about the exclusion of its name in VoIP News top 50 list. Give more credit to this […]

Leave a comment