Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

It is about the Consumers, Stupid!!!

Posted by tggokul on February 19, 2008

I was watching the India-Srilanka cricket match when there was an ad break. I normally would have switched channels, but the remote was not there with me and so had to watch the ads.

For the first time in my life, I actually saw an ad by Cisco touting its “Human Networks”. This got me thinking. Why in the world would a Networking company want to announce itself to the general consumers? Why would Cisco want to be consumer facing? Let’s say Cisco’s next big bet is on Unified Communication. Still, they would need to target the enterprises and not the end consumer.

They are not going IPO. So it cannot be a marketing ploy. Why would Cisco want to get into the public eye? I have some views. But I would like to hear yours , please.

One Response to “It is about the Consumers, Stupid!!!”

  1. Carlos Seiji said

    Hi,
    my english is so poor, but if i understand you, this is my opinion.
    Well, maybe who see this kind of game have a good postition at the company where they work and good chance to use the cisco products and/or service.

    Regards.

Leave a Reply

 
