Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

How do I want to be known?

Posted by tggokul on October 8, 2007

There is a humorous ad ( by IDEA Telecom) going around recently which in essence says that all communal fights and other racial discrimination can be averted by giving phone numbers as names to everybody and everybody would be known by their numbers.

Pretty hilarious, but at the same time got me thinking. If I wanted to be known other than by my name, which of my modes of communication best represents me?  I have to say it is still yahoo/gmail id. Yes, there is spam; yes there is trouble sorting through the entire list but I still feel the best way to reach me is email. Not any of the IMs, not any of the social networking ids, not the Skypes/Gtalks of the world.

I still get most of my meaningful communications done through mail. So the best way to know me is through my email id. What is yours?

Leave a Reply

 
