Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

WordPress Maintenance during the Weekend

Posted by tggokul on August 27, 2007

How many of you were affected by the WordPress maintenance that took place during the weekend? I sure was one of them. When I tried logging into my blog on Saturday all I got was a blank screen and for sometime I actually thought that WordPress was hacked ( like Skype. Yup, I don’t believe in the official release from Skype that Windows update was the root cause. I believe they were hacked)

Half an hour later when I tried to re-login ,I got to my blog page but I got an error saying that Maintenance was going on and things would be normal in 7 mins. My waiting continued and when I went back to my page after 10 mins, I got the message that things would be normal after 20 mins. I didn’t bother checking after that and that evening ( after 4 or five hours), things got back to normal.

Again, on Sunday even though I was able to go to my admin page and do stuff I kept getting messages that maintenance would start in another half hour or something. Needless to say, I shut down my laptop for the weekend. Man, what a liberating feeling that is!!

I don’t see anybody else reporting these in the blogosphere; So I am assuming only a few of us were affected by this. I am trying to think of a  conspiracy theory for this attack against me, but I can’t come up with one sane explanation 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
