Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

When Tagging Interests me No more

Posted by tggokul on August 11, 2007

I used to be a big fan of Jeff Pulver’s Tagging games. When I was new to the blogging world, I was very interested to know what the thought leaders in the VoIP domain had to say and this is where Pulver’s tagging games were of enormous help.

I just used to follow the tagged links and that is how I came across great blogs written by the likes of Ken, Saunders, Peter, Greg, Jon, Garrett, Jim of Skype Journal, Andy, Rich Tehrani, PhoneBoy and VoIPGirl. Pulver had started another Tagging game few days ago and till date I tried to follow the links in the hope that I can catch another exciting/interesting blog. But it has been just the same guys who have been tagged this time around as well. 

If Pulver’s intention was to get some new bloggers out in the open, then this edition so far has not lived up to that expectation. I really hope that the thought leaders I have mentioned above go the extra mile to reach out to other bloggers in this space ( I request them to do this because, they certainly meet more people in the same space and are more likely to get this done). If the reaching out is not done, we essentially become the ‘walled garden’ which we are fighting to bring down.

4 Responses to “When Tagging Interests me No more”

  1. Did you not read what BlogDay 2007 was all about?

    Details: http://pulverblog.pulver.com/archives/007307.html

    The rest is up to YOU.

  2. tggokul said

    Hi Jeff,

    Thanks for commenting on the posts.

    Actually I did read what Blog Day’2007 it was about. That was the reason for anticipating more. It was about knowing more about people from different cultures and the five people whom you had referred to were new to me.

    But if you take a look at what it has metamorphed into, you will appreciate my point. The last post I saw on this, I happened to see just the same set of guys being tagged which was not I believe the spirit in which you started the tag.

    Gokul

  3. Gokul,

    So go back and email/communicate with those folks directly. Thinking they will simply discover your comments and read your mind and capture your thoughts about this is a bit presumptuous, don’t you think?

    And why not and go out and follow the spirit of BlogDay Blog-Tag and start your own tree? Go ahead and show your world the way to do it.

    Jeff

  4. PhoneBoy said

    When I participated in this, I tried to find some bloggers that don’t usually get a lot of attention in the spaces in which I normally write. Or at least blogs they write that might be outside of “the usual ones” (e.g. highlighting Phil’s wonderful “Finland for Thought” blog instead of the S60 blogs).

    It’s a shame that some bloggers didn’t follow the spirit of the rules at least.

Leave a Reply

 
