Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

An ‘Out of the Office” message… For my phone

Posted by tggokul on June 6, 2007

As most of you are aware I have been travelling for the last three weeks and have been to Singapore and Malaysia. Though I have international roaming enabled for my Indian mobile number, I would rather not use it because of the high tariffs.

So I went ahead and bought local SIMs in Singapore and in Malaysia. This way my phone charges were cheap. One problem though. I have just one phone with me and so if I were using my Singapore SIM ( which has mostly been the case the last three weeks, other than the two days I was in Malaysia), my Indian number is not reachable. I have no problems with that. I don’t think I am losing million dollar deals because I am unreachable on my mobile 🙂

At the same time it would be nice if there was a service by which I could leave ‘Out of the office’ voice messages to people who call in. Just like I would do with my email. This way if somebody were trying to reach me in my Indian mobile number, it would just play a message that I was out of the country and cannot be reached for so many days. They can alternatively email me at abc@xyz.com for immediate attention.

I don’t think any service provider offers such a service. Hopefully the presence based relevance models that companies like iotum are offering would one day lead to applications like these. I am sure there a quite a few of us facing this problem.

Leave a Reply

 
