Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

Curing Stewie!!!

Posted by tggokul on February 23, 2007

In case you are wondering who Stewie is, it’s my personal Sony laptop whom I named after the crazy kid from the cartoon show Family Guy. I always thought my laptop was Machiavellian and ready to take over the world and hence the christening.

But of late, poor stewie has been very sick. It all started when I borrowed a USB stick from my brother (damn him!!!) . Looks like it was infested with the AGOBOT.LH worm and Stewie was hit. The symptoms were like this. Every time I booted up Stewie, there wouldbe a glaring popup that said “There are no disks in the external drive”. And I had to manually cancel that dialog. I have Trend Micro running as well, and it reported that there were six or seven files infected.

If it was just some annoying popup message, I would not have cared too much. But there was more. The CPU was always at 100% and when I ran the taskmanager there was a process called NETSVCS.exe that took 99%. (Sometimes this process did not even allow me to view the taskmanager and I had to reboot it a few times to get that working.) On killing that, Stewie would be temporarily ok but then when I restart, I had to do the same procedure all over again. ( Again there was no guarantee that Iwould get the TaskManager on every reboot)

I thought there would an easy fix and a simple google search would give me the answers. And it did. Symantec presumably had a fix  and I ran it. But no, AGOBOT was so infatuated with Stewie that it just refused to go away. Note * : I was furious with Trend Micro for letting Stewie down in the first place.

Did more googling and found a neat site which threw a lot of light on this Virus and gave a link to guess what; Trend Micro’s site where they have given a fix for this. Truth be told, I was pretty cynical that the fix would work, but hey it just did and now Stewie is back to normal,  thinking of ways to dominate the world 🙂

My faith in Trend Micro has re-blossomed and they are a notch higher in my ranking list over Symantec. I thank you all on behalf of Stewie for the good wishes ( ok, there were none 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

 
