Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

RealityTV : Hunt for the Next Killer App

Posted by tggokul on February 13, 2007

Forget Americal idol, forget “Search for the Next Supermodel”, I think the reality show I would want to watch is “Worldwide search for the next killer App”. Ofcourse, the problem would be just a few hundred geeks including yours truly would watch the show.

Seriously though, I am tired of people all over the world talking about killer applications that would change the face of the world, yet do nothing about it. I, for one, have come to the conclusion that there are no killer apps left in the world, unless you can teleport yourself over IP!!! If you can’t do that, don’t talk about Killer Apps anymore. Voice/Video was the last killer app.

So why am I writing this now? Phoneboy’s post on why VoIP harware was boring and Aswath’s response on the same stimulated me to write this. Though I agree with Aswath that it is not exactly boring and a whole lot of things can still be done, I also tend to agree with Phoneboy in the sense the perception about VoIP hardware has definitely changed. Gone are the days when they elicitied the “oohhs” and the “aahhs” Not any more. Though it is mostly not the case, most of the “new” stuff ‘appear’ as if they are all the same. That is the perception I am talking about.

Which makes me wonder, all the supposedly new VoIP software more or less look the same as well. They are not the same, I know, because I have been in this field for some time and can appreciate the subtle variations and the feature set that accompanies it. But the majority just see it as yet another service. ( I am not being condescending here. I am just viewing the opinions expressed by others) Question is, will this perception make VoIP software boring as well? At the same time, ‘Boring’ is not necessarily a bad thing. Routers and Switches are boring ( hey, I am a voice guy and I will always talk trash about data), but the last time I checked Cisco was doing just fine!!!

6 Responses to “RealityTV : Hunt for the Next Killer App”

  1. Palani said

    I guess any application, once it hits mainstream market and starts seeing cycles of cost reductions will eventually get commoditized. With so much R&D money invested by big corporations things become standardized and will be perceived as commonplace or perhaps “boring”. This is what happened to PC hardware industryin late 90s, networking gear in 2000s. It is happens a lot in semiconductor industry as well. When I entered the semiconductor industry I got the chance to work on High Speed Serial I/O which was considered state of the art during that time. Now Serial I/O IP is available for sale by multiple vendors and it is headed towards the direction of becoming a commodity.

  2. […] by palanis on February 13th, 2007 I was reading Gokul’s post on how things that were hot once could get “boring” eventually. This happens very […]

  3. Loori said

    I tend to agree with Palani. This ‘boring’ trend is not in any one particular field. It happens everywhere.

    In software, I think it is more of inneffeciency that keeps shifting interest. Look at how OOPs started. People wanted to modularize code and increase reusability with languages such as C++ and later on with Java… It just increased the number of problems. And none of the initial intent were reached.

    Now they are targeting the same kind of things with guess what?? SOA. Modularity, reusability and ‘granularization’ of applications. This too will be the fad only for some time… and the person who is going to come up with the next catch phrase is going to be richer by a few millions. I hope this time it is Forrester and not Gartner to come up with it.

  4. Loori said

    Answering Gokul, I feel killer apps are everywhere around you. Google’s search algo itself WAS a killer app. So WAS ‘ping’. You just have to look at sci-fi movies to know what are all the things that are being dreamt about. Maybe once those are implemented we would still have vowel oriented reactions. (other than eeeeks)

    Maybe in the Voip field what you are saying is correct… I do not know too much about it. But there is a lot of opportunities in other fields. People can still be wowed.. and as i said in the last comment… there are quite a lot of unfulfilled but ‘fulfillable’ promises.

  5. tggokul said

    Loori,

    I usually restrict myself to the VoIP domain 🙂

    Gokul

  6. Rajan said

    The problem with killer app is that is seldom predictable before hand, you know that something was a killer app once it had become killer.

Leave a Reply

 
