Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

Ushering in Google

Posted by tggokul on January 9, 2007

Ok, let’s get this out of the way. I love Google ( the search Engine as well as the company) and their success awes me. I have couple of friends working there and have been hearing about their unique development practices for some time.

People claim that Google probably has the lowest Tester to developer ratio; reason being the developers are encouraged to write quality code that undergoes very little change during testing phase.  I have always made a conscious decision to emulate this when I code. Initially (4 to 5 years ago)  the time taken to code this way was more but now it has reduced drastically( maybe 1/10 of the time). I actually take pride in ‘zero’ bug code ( however big the application is ) and I think it is finally paying off.  People who code this way have a natural advantage when the deadlines are unbelievable and products have to be deployed immediately without the full fledged testing cycle.

I believe You have to be a great tester to be a mediocre developer, and an exceptional tester to be a good developer. Though I did not come from a testing background, my first job was in a startup without a testing department. So developers got together and tested other developer’s work. (Trust me, there is nothing more humiliating than another developer finding a bug in your code.)

I am trying to usher in this culture in my current company. I mentor a few people currently and I bludgeon this aspect of programming into them everyday. Earlier I used to get annoyed and irritated when people write code without understanding the whole implication, now I try to explain to them the consequences of their action.

Right now I have given my underlings one of the applications I wrote today and have asked them to test it and report atleast 5 bugs (however minor) within the next two hours. I am cocky enough to say that they will not find it. If we (my company) are to become something significant, emulating Google would be a good start.

Leave a Reply

 
