Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

Indian Stock Market — Where are the bears?

Posted by tggokul on November 10, 2006

I am more of a calculative guy and sure am not a sucker for speculation. More than four years ago my friend/colleague D’Sean Sumwashe decided that we were going to play the US market and got an online account. I still remember the reasoning as to why we bought our first stock FoxStar Wars Episode II Attack of the Clones was releasing the subsequent week and that was the flagship of 20th Century Fox and we were sure it was going to be a roaring sucess. We were right and Fox rose by 15 % within a week and we sold it for a decent profit. ( Our subsequent investments were not this logical. But that is another story for another day).

Alas, I miss those days when we could actually predict the market. Especially the Indian stocks. As some of you might be aware the Indian market has been reaching new highs almost everyday and it reflects the positive sentiment in the country. I am all for ‘positive sentiment’ but seriously where are you all Mr.Bears. I know it is winter, have you all gone to hibernate in the North Pole?

My anger towards this breed can be attributed to the fact that they made me look so pedestrian in front of my friends. I had predicted last week (before the US Congress/Senate election) that once the Democrats win big, there would be a definite ripple effect in the major Indian Software Services companies like Infosys/Wipro whose lifeline is getting outsourced work from US companies. And Democrats have always raised an anti-outsourcing rhetoric and it was only logical that the stocks go down. That is common-sense. I was right about the democrats winning ( but so were 99.99% in the world) but was way off mark when it came to stock speculation.  The stocks went up and my reputation among friends went down. Now do you see where all the anger is coming from? These darn bears don’t play by the rules do they?

2 Responses to “Indian Stock Market — Where are the bears?”

  1. Vijay said

    I guess, the fact of the matter is that, there are no rules and nothing more than pure speculation – atleast in the commodity stock market. Perhaps if you look into hedge funds and other forms of trading, there might be a way for better analysis and prediction… Maybe you are just in the wrong place.

  2. […] I know where I went wrong  in my previous post titled “Where are the bears” . I had written the following in that post Once the Democrats win big, there would be a definite ripple effect in the major Indian Software Services companies like Infosys/Wipro whose lifeline is getting outsourced work from US companies. And Democrats have always raised an anti-outsourcing rhetoric and it was only logical that the stocks go down. […]

Leave a Reply

 
