Gokul Blog — A conversation on VoIP, IMS, Cisco and Just about Anything

Deeper analysis of VoIP

Orative – A Cisco Company

Posted by tggokul on November 10, 2006

As part of my current assignment ,I have been very involved with Cisco  Call Manager ( IP PBX) , IPCC ( IP Contact Center) products and the following news item caught my eye.

http://www.voip-news.com/feature/cisco-orative-pbx-mobile-integration-110106/

What fascinates me the most with this acquisition/technology is how it is going to change the way Contact Centers are going to work. It brings Business logic to your mobile phone in addition to the conventional PBX-Cellular integration. Now from what I understand on Iotum, isn’t this similar? I could be wrong and I hope that Alec Saunders (CEO,Iotum) can correct me if I am.

Also I am very curious as to how how Avaya is going to respond to this and am kind of surprised they did not come out first with this considering the fact that they were way ahead of competition in the Unified Communication Space and more specifically in the IP-Mobile integration game. Your move Mr.Avaya.

8 Responses to “Orative – A Cisco Company”

  1. Hi Gokul,

    We have some similar capabilities to Orative, but are really targeting a different market, that being the individual mobile professional. Ours is a personal solution as opposed to a contact center solution!

    Cheers,

    A

  2. Hi Gokul,

    We’re targeting the individual mobile professional rather than the call center market. Some similar capabilities, but different use cases.

    Best, A

  3. tggokul said

    Hi Alec,

    Thanks for the information and clarification.

    Gokul

  4. […] We all know of Avaya’s Interactive Response (AIR), but now it looks like they have ARC which is Avaya’s Response to Cisco. I had written in one of my earlier blogs about Cisco-Orative deal and I had ended it with “Your move Mr.Avaya”. Looks like they have made their move ( I would like to believe that my blog co-erced them to make this decision ). They have announced the acquistion of Traverse Networks. The news items when talking about Traverse Networks says  It has acquired Traverse Networks, a privately held developer of enterprise mobility solutions for unified communications, based in Fremont, Calif. […]

  5. […] I had written a couple of blogs earlier ( link here and here) about the growing competition between Cisco ans Avaya in the Unified Communication space. What struck me as odd before and I had briefly touched upon in this my earlier blog, was that Avaya has been doing this for a much longer time than Cisco or Microsoft, yet when you talk about this space, there is more visibility for SONA ( Service Oriented Network Architecture) from Cisco or Office Communication Server (from Microsoft). Avaya has been literally invisible in this segment. […]

  6. […] was always on the cards when Cisco bought Orative ( used to develop software that extends many of the capabilities and features of IP PBXs, […]

  7. […] manufacturers to interop with their latest Call Manager version to enable presence/mobility. I had blogged about Orative acquisition nearly eight months ago and the latest CCM ( now called Unified […]

  8. […] manufacturers to interop with their latest Call Manager version to enable presence/mobility. I had blogged about Orative acquisition nearly eight months ago and the latest CCM ( now called Unified […]

Leave a Reply

 
